Board of Trustees and Advisory Council

The Institute's Board of Trustees, which holds ultimate responsibility for the Institute's affairs, is led by an independent chair and generally meets quarterly.

The Institute's Advisory Council comprises senior psychoanalysts distinguished by many years of excellence in their analytic work and their research, writing or teaching, who offer the Institute their counsel as needed.


  • Kirkland C. Vaughans, Chairman, Harlem Family Institute Kirkland C. Vaughans PhD
  • Michael Connolly LP, MPA, NCPsyA
    President & Executive Director
  • Kim Arrington PsyD
    Clinical Director
  • Thomas Wagner LPsyA, NCPsyA
  • Michael Salhani MA
  • Chakira Haddock-Lazala PhD (Psych)
  • Rain Henderson MPA
  • Lee Jenkins PhD, LP
    President Emeritus & Chair Emeritus
  • Kim Kleinman LCSW
  • Margaret Morgan Lawrence MD
    Founding Trustee
    Nation's first African American female pediatrician
    Nation's first African American female psychoanalyst
  • Angela Rita Farias LP, LCSW
    Chair Emeritus
  • M. Clive Robinson MD
  • Robyn Robinson
  • Marjory Slobetz LCSW, BCD
  • Ernest P. Smith LCSW-R
  • Rev. Sulton Stack Jr. DMin
  • Simone Sternberg EdD, NCPsyA
  • Cherryetta Williams CASAC, LP, LMHC
  • Damon Young


  • C. Jama Adams PhD (Psychology)
  • Anni Bergman PhD
  • Allen Bergson PhD, LCSW
  • Christopher Bollas PhD
  • L. Bruce Boyer MD
  • Robert Coles MD
  • James Comer MD
  • Paul C. Cooper LP, NCPsyA
  • Howard Dodson
  • Michael Eigen PhD
  • Harry Fogarty PhD
  • Gerald J. Gargiulo PhD, LP
  • Edmund. W. Gordon PhD
  • Stephen Kurtz LCSW
  • Merle Molofsky LP, NCPsyA
  • Dolores O. Morris PhD
  • Alan Roland PhD
  • Ann Rose Simon LCSW
  • Ann B. Ulanov PhD
  • Paul Wachtel PhD
  • Peter L. Giovacchini MD
  • James Grotstein MD
  • Esther Menaker PhD
  • Jule Miller MD
  • Martin Schulman PhD

Trustees are elected by the board to three-year terms on a staggered basis, one third facing re-election every year. The Institute's students are able to elect one representative to the board each year for a one-year term. The Institute's officers face re-election for their posts every year.

The Institute's operations are authorized by a charter granted by the Board of Regents of the University of the State of New York, on behalf of the Education Department of the State of New York.

The board of trustees' activities are further governed by the Institute's bylaws and its conflict-of-interest policy.